VOG Forum banner

Why did Polaris stick with Indian motor and not Victory?

11K views 84 replies 34 participants last post by  Rags 
#1 ·
I am sure this has been discussed to death, but I am new to my Victory. However, I have watched videos of Harley Engine vs Victory and very impressed with Victory engines. So why did Polaris stick with Indian engine? And are there videos discussing these differences?

#2 ·
Polaris didn't scrap everything that they learned from victory when they gave up on the brand and doubled down on the Indian brand. The motor they used in the Scout was developed for the Victory Octane and my understanding is that the new power plus engine platform began development under Victory. Indian had a developed engine platform when Victory was shut down that has lasted a few years and the new technology from what was in development is hitting the streets now.

#4 ·
Polaris developed the Indian in general to appeal to HD riders and grab the “nostalgia”. So therefore created the pushrod motor too.

also, I think early on the plan was to have both brands. Old Guard and New Guard as it were.

presuming the “Harley vs Victory” videos you are referring to is the 5 part series from Mike at Tucson Victory?
Some folks have mixed feelings about those vids as they are quite “sales-y”

#6 ·
Polaris developed the Indian in general to appeal to HD riders and grab the "nostalgia". So therefore created the pushrod motor too.

also, I think early on the plan was to have both brands. Old Guard and New Guard as it were.

presuming the "Harley vs Victory" videos you are referring to is the 5 part series from Mike at Tucson Victory?
Some folks have mixed feelings about those vids as they are quite "sales-y"
Yes those videos. I would hate to be the guy who is being talked to like a child and just shakes his head.

#5 ·