Why did Polaris stick with Indian motor and not Victory? | Victory Motorcycles: Motorcycle Forums

Why did Polaris stick with Indian motor and not Victory?

Discussion in 'Victory General Discussion' started by LouisArena, Oct 8, 2021.

1. LouisArena

LouisArena Member

Type of Motorcycle Currently Riding:
    2006 Victory Hammer; 2008 Honda St
    I am sure this has been discussed to death, but I am new to my Victory. However, I have watched videos of Harley Engine vs Victory and very impressed with Victory engines. So why did Polaris stick with Indian engine? And are there videos discussing these differences?

2. James__

James__ Active Member

2014 XC
    Polaris didn't scrap everything that they learned from victory when they gave up on the brand and doubled down on the Indian brand. The motor they used in the Scout was developed for the Victory Octane and my understanding is that the new power plus engine platform began development under Victory. Indian had a developed engine platform when Victory was shut down that has lasted a few years and the new technology from what was in development is hitting the streets now.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Informative Informative x 2
  3. wvrider1

wvrider1 Well-Known Member

Goldmist/Black 14 XCT
    Because they couldn't give a Victory away, but they are lining up for a "Indian" like they buying a real piece of history.

Last edited: Oct 8, 2021
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
  4. md2420

md2420 Well-Known Member

2014 Vision
    Polaris developed the Indian in general to appeal to HD riders and grab the “nostalgia”. So therefore created the pushrod motor too.

also, I think early on the plan was to have both brands. Old Guard and New Guard as it were.

presuming the “Harley vs Victory” videos you are referring to is the 5 part series from Mike at Tucson Victory?
    Some folks have mixed feelings about those vids as they are quite “sales-y”

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1