VOG Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a kingpin over the weekend. Overall I love the bike even though it’s a 2005. 28k miles and it looks great. Now I’m new to V-twins, and victory’s, but my bike sounds like it has a top end tick when running. Is this just the v twin norm? Or is there something more concerning I should be looking for. I checked the oil level it’s spot on where it should be! Just don’t want to miss something I should be fixing. TIA!

·
Registered
6,841 Posts
Victory's have notoriously noisy valve trains compared to many other bikes. Nothing a good pair of ear buds or loud exhaust won't fix.
Wouldn't hurt to change the oil since it's new to you.
If it continues to worry you maybe you can post a video of it here.
Take a look at the 'similar threads' at the bottom of your screen.

·
Registered
1,354 Posts
Hey @CalebGose82 , welcome to the VOG and great choice of rides. I'm a fellow Pinhead as well (04). Yep, I get that as well. As Lou suggested an oil change and tire check would be a good thing to do regardless.

·
Registered
5 Posts
I agree with the others. I was mildly concerned about the ticking when I first got my 08 Kingpin, but after hearing several other Vic’s, I came to the conclusion that what I was hearing was completely normal. Since then, I’ve put almost 10K miles on the bike in the last 9 months with no issues at all.
I just got an 08 myself about a month ago and was terrified something was wrong with it. I found out that this is pretty normal for victories and have been loving it.

·
Registered
3,417 Posts
If you start your bike on the stand and leave it there to warm up, the tic is likely to be louder. I start mine now after I'm aboard and it's upright.