1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2,719 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
Premium Member
3,850 Posts
As you know, I've been a Pro-Technology person all of my professional life. At the risk of being a hypocrite,I am thrilled this Legislation is finally becoming a reality. It's a sad statement that we have to rely on laws to regulate what should be common sense.

It will be interesting to see the punishments that will be invoked when this law is violated. Hopefully, it will be considered an impairment and be treated in a similar fashion to DUI. If it's a $20 fine, it might not be effective. As pointed out in another thread, if the driver knows that if they are caught they could risk losing his/her driving rights for a designated period, then it will become a strong deterrent.

On another note, how long will it be until a tech company delivers a mass marketed method of using voice activated "texting?" That would skirt the law, but still distract the drivers from properly operating a motor vehicle.

As Roseane-Rosane-A-Danna (Gilda Radner's Saturday Night Live Character) used to say, "If it's not one thing, it's another."

Keep your eyes open while riding.

·
Registered
4,867 Posts
Yeah at least he waited to get out of the car before killing himself.

As i posted in another thread, the law doesnt mean sh&^% unless it is enforced.
They passed the law in the City limits of Chicago you may only use a hands free cell phone in your car, LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL . I drive in the city every day and i have yet to see anyone pulled over for this. Even when passing cops while on the phone.

·
Registered
290 Posts

It's funnyhow we need laws for common sense, and to protect the stupid from themselves.
What ever happened to natural selection ? I heard great things :)

·
Registered
2,719 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Andy said: