VOG Forum banner
1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, thevog.net

So two of my buddies and I went on a ride today toward the mountains. I live in central California and the Sierra Nevada Mountains and hill are right in our back yard. I've been riding for about 3 years, taken a few riding courses and I just bought my 2005 Vegas early this year. One of my buddies drives a Yami V-star 1100 and the other V-star 650. We started off as a pack but as soon as the curves begin and hills they completely dust me. My Vegas is almost both of their bikes combined (engine size). But even the 650 leaves my in the dust. I take my time, going around the curves at 45-55mph and faster on the straight away. Every so many miles, they'll pull over and wait for me to catch up then they leave me behind again...... What speed do you guys ride at, comfort speed on curves, hills, straights? or am I just being a nancy....lol

I would really like to hear what everyone, anyone has to say.

·
Registered
75 Posts
It's not that you're being a Nancy, you just gotta find your comfort level and, of that means driving slower than them, so be it. I guess I can't say for certain but, I feel like your bike can easily outperform theirs. I ride with my dad, me on a CCT and him on his 107 road king, and I leave him in the dust. I have a SLIGHTLY smaller engine and a good amount of weight more than him but, I just ride harder than him.

·
Registered
4,227 Posts
Admititly you only have 3 years of riding. Experience over cubic inches,,is that the case?

·
Registered
2,346 Posts
Wow!
Depends on many things like the type of curve, road conditions, traffic, time of year (deer), riding alone or experience of people I'm riding with, which bike I'm on etc....

First: Ride at your own pace, always! As Dirty Harry said "A man must know his limitations".
If you want to ride faster than practice & learn or take a riders course: basic, advanced & even track.