VOG Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I purchased my first Victory bike a couple weeks back, so naturally, I am new to this VOG forum as well, so please go easy on me.

Like I mentioned earlier, I am new to Victory ownership... still can't believe it took me this long to discover what I think is the best V-Twin bike built. I have a 09 Victory Kingpin with the 100 ci engine coupled to the 6 speed tranny. When I first start off, I can't help but notice that the bike shutters at low RPM (1000 - 1400) and smooths right out after the RPM get beyond that. Is this a common characteristic of the 100? Is this a gear box issue? Perhaps a clutch issue?

Shuggs

·
Registered
1,722 Posts
Sounds to me like your lugging the engine.

·
Registered
691 Posts
I typically keep the RPM's around 2000 RPM's to prevent this. That keeps everything smooth. I have the 106 but it should be the same thing for you. As recumbent bob said: You are lugging your engine.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi Recumbentbob,

Thank-you for the reply. I was on the same train of thought as you, so on that note, I tried increasing the RPM in hopes of getting past the shutter point. I tried feathering the clutch engagement with the higher RPM (1500 +), I tried a quick clutch engagement at higher RPM's... shutter still there. The only way to really get by the shutter is to feather engage at at 1800 RPM (give or take), which is really odd for big a piston bike. So I decided to toss out the question to the VOG. (keeping in mind, that if it weren't for numerous Victory owners telling me that the "chunky-clunk" being normal as one engages the shifter, I would have thought something was wrong with the gear box too)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Hi Blackened,

Recumbentbob strongly hinted that I am probably lugging it off the line as well. When I throw your reply into the mix, perhaps, I am doing nothing more than lugging it.