VOG Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I brought my bike in to have the cruise control fixed and also noted that there was a squeak in the suspension.

The mechanic said there is a pivot point that needs grease but also my shock was leaking oil. So that brings me to my question, is there a better aftermarket shock, or should I stick with the factory part?

Edit: 2014 Victory Cross Country

·
Registered
4,223 Posts
Does your rear shock lose air pressure? I have trust issues with mechanic's and I was an auto mechanic. lol

Stock one still good on my XR at 107k and counting.
True, but they are known to fail. The Penske is a much better shock anyway.

Reactions: lou8700

·
Registered
4,223 Posts
It can leak oil without leaking air. If its leaking oil, the shock is shot. The shock is an oil shock with air assist for adjustment. You can look at the shock and see if there is oil on it.

·
Registered
6,713 Posts
Man, I don't know what to tell you. The oil and air are sealed by the same seals. If it were me I'd wait till a rear tire change so it can be inspected closely.

·
Registered
4,227 Posts
What was wrong with your CC? And please post the fix if they do. Mine is acting funny. Think @Squatch runs a Penske rear. He is a big guy, don't know about you. Maybe he will chime in.

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
What was wrong with your CC? And please post the fix if they do. Mine is acting funny. Think @Squatch runs a Penske rear. He is a big guy, don't know about you. Maybe he will chime in.
Mine quit functioning after my trip in the rain last year.

it was determined the module was bad.

i created a thread back when it happened, and my issues were unheard of from others that had cruise control issues.

·
Registered
1,154 Posts