VOG Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright so I'm working on replacing the for seals on my 07 vegas because the are leaking horribly. I slid the forks off the bike. Now I'm trying to remove the bottom drain plug. Problem is that the drain plug isn't coming out. When I turn the bolt the whole fork tube is spinning so I held the top cap with a wrench and tried loosening the drain bolt and now the inerds are just spinning inside the tube and the bolts not coming loose. This is my first time doing fork seals and I watched a few videos on how to do them and it didn't look too hard. But something doesn't seem right. It's doing it on both forks so I need some people to chime in and give me some advice. Bike had 20k and this is the first seal replacement. Thanks

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
clamp it in a vise put a towel round fork if vice is big enough put 2 pieces of wood on each side of fork
I can keep the fork tube from spinning while I try to unscrew the drain bolt by putting a crescent wrench on the cap and holding it. But the problem is that the inerds or spring and bushings and stuff on the inside are spinning also causing the drain bolt to not loosen.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I can keep the fork tube from spinning while I try to unscrew the drain bolt by putting a crescent wrench on the cap and holding it. But the problem is that the inerds or spring and bushings and stuff on the inside are spinning also causing the drain bolt to not loosen.
This is all while the fork is clamped in a vise.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
This is probably a dumb question but did you take a look at some of the many available YouTube videos about fork disassembly?

front fork disassembly victory - YouTube