VOG Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6,846 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a bad starter, and I want to be able to ride the bike to where I'm gonna fix it.. but I haven't tried push starting one of these (successfully anyways). Anyone had to do it and have it work? It'd be nice to ride it instead of having to load it. I did try to push start an old 01 V92C but it had electrical issues so maybe that's why it wouldn't work. I have a LOT of experience push starting big bikes... I had a Harley that had a lot of electrical problems and I got to where I could push start that big bastard by myself on the flat. I have a big hill here at my house, just didn't wanna have to push the big bastard back UP the hill if it didn't work. :)

·
Registered
4,559 Posts
What about raising the rear end and using a new buffer wheel on a drill to get that rear wheel up to speed? It was always easy for me with the GW on a center stand. Also had electrical issues with it and idiot issues because I'd leave the key on after killing it and go for lunch.

Reactions: Yago20

·
Registered
8,075 Posts
As above was my almost exact thoughts of putting up rear on a stand of sorts and using the third or even 4th gear and do it that way.....

·
Registered
600 Posts
I had to push start my 2011 CC one time down a hill. I used 2nd and then 3rd and that was too much drag. 4th did the trick and off I went. Good luck.

Reactions: mister-g

·
Registered
4,841 Posts
Once i rolled down a steep hill at a hotel on a mountain at 5 in the morning so we didnt wake up other guests and i tried to pop the clutch of the jackpot .... Didnt work, just locked the rear up, but the CC has more weight ....

·
Registered
1,772 Posts
What about pulling the starter out at the house? And then installing a new one. With where they're located it will be easier than trying to push start it, rasing the wheel up, or having to load it.

·
Registered
7,186 Posts