Penske rear shock install advise. | Victory Motorcycles: Motorcycle Forums

Penske rear shock install advise.

Discussion in 'Victory Cross Country' started by burbansk, May 24, 2021.

1. burbansk

burbansk Member

Type of Motorcycle Currently Riding:
    2013 Victory Cross Country Tour, 2000 BMW 1150 GS, 2008 Honda TRX 700 XX
    Hello all, My new Penske rear shock for my 2013 Victory Cross Country Tour will hit my door tomorrow if UPS is on time. Does anyone have any advise or tricks on the install? I have watched the Witchdoctor video and I am a very good mechanic. Do I need to remove the rear wheel or just the seat and side covers to do the R&R? Thanks for any info and pictures. Bruce.

2. wvrider1

wvrider1 Well-Known Member

Goldmist/Black 14 XCT
    I had my tire off because I was doing other stuff. Getting the lower clevis over the spacers was the biggest challenge.

Attached Files:

• Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. walks35

walks35 Well-Known Member

2004 Victory Kingpin
    If you got the tools and the time it's easier to get crap out of the way. I have a Pin which is much less effort getting to the shock to replace but I also removed the rear wheel for other work and it was pretty easy to do.

4. burbansk

burbansk Member

Thank you WVrider for the picture. From the looks of your picture the bolt hole goes to the rear of the bike. I will take my rear tire off, it is no big deal.

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. burbansk

burbansk Member

Thanks walks35 I have a few different types of lifts. Did you grind the lower portion of the air shock like they say in the Witchdoctor video?

6. Chris_TX

Chris_TX Member

2017 CCT, 2002 Yamaha Warrior