VOG Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello folks in the Kingpin world. I am a novice rider with about six months experience on a old Honda Shadow 750. I am age 40, 6'2" 195lbs. I came a across a great looking 2004 KP with 20k miles. Did research the specs and I am aware of the 5 speeds and the smaller motor. Fine with me, thiswill bemy firstcruiser used mostly in town with some light highway cruising. The dealer does not have any history on the bike other than it was a trade in a few months ago. By appearance the bike looks great. Not rust or any major wear on the seats or pedals. I took a great liking in this bike. CAN ANYONE tell me if there are any issues of the 2004 KP I should look into.
Are there any cons regarding owning a bike like this. I have read many topics and forums on this site. Looks like the Victory community is strong and satisfied with their Victory bikes. I wish to buy American, yet don't have the budget for a HD. This particular KP is at the price of a crapy Sportster HD. Look fwd to all of your replys and knowledge. Thanks again for a great site at the VOG.
CaptGP

·
Registered
2,995 Posts
I had an 04 Kingpin that in 4 years I put on just over 50,000 miles. Selling it was probably one of the biggest mistakes I made.

If you can get a deal you feel good about it, buy it and enjoy it. The 'smaller motors' are strong as well and you're not missing much versus the newer larger motors.

·
Registered
11,771 Posts
Like they said, you only miss out on the overdrive 6th gear.

Its a very strong motor and transmission, should give you no trouble.

Don't look at it as something to buy as you can't afford a HD. Short of the CVO and the V-rods that Kingpin will out perform about any HD you come across.

Buy it

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·