VOG Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a 2000 V92C last week and finally was able to get it out on the road for a little bit this last weekend. I love the was it rides and drives and once I get the windshield it will be my commuter. However, the previous owner has put on the exhaust in the picture, and I hate the sound at highway speeds. (BTW, realized just how much I'm not a fan of riding 75mph w/o a windshield, LOL) I'm looking for some quieter slip on's or stock pipes.. Since the exhaust on the bike still has the crossover, I'm thinking that it is probably stock from that point to the engine.

I'm new to cruisers and modding bikes, and due to my budget, will be learning how to do it myself as I go. Any thoughts or ideas about quieter mufflers are welcome. I am not a proponent of "Loud pipes save lives". I believe head's up defensive driving saves lives, and nearly 30 years of working crashes of all sorts kinda bear that out.

Anyway, I say ALL that to say I need quieter pipes.

Thanks for your patience!

Tire Wheel Fuel tank Automotive fuel system Vehicle

·
Registered
6,846 Posts
Hmm, you might be looking in a pretty picked over bin there partner. I can tell you that you can put exhaust on from 'newer' bikes although you'd prob have to fab an exhaust bracket to hang 'em from. Another possibility is to just get some baffles for the ones you do have. I've seen people put 'lollipop' style baffles in open pipes. Not saying that will quiet those down much.. just offering possibly cheaper solutions than trying to replace those pipes.

Good looking machine btw. I love me some V92's. :) I think the only thing that I really had a beef with on the old bikes were the bags. My son had an 01 and I had an 02 with aftermarket bags. The narrow opening on the stock bags always annoyed the hell outta me.

·
Registered
4,228 Posts