VOG Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bike is due for an oil change. I usually do this myself, but with the 8,000 miles on the bike, I am wondering if I should take the bike to a shop. I am a certified aircraft mechanic, snap-on are as basic as a fork and a knife to me. Question is... is the extra money involved in a detailed inspection and 8,000 mile tune-up (and possibly Dyno and tune of my Anger Management EMI) worth it? I know a lot of maintenance can't be written on paper cause it is based on personal feel and experience. Should I sacrifice this professionalism and do it myself (I have the tools and the resources, just lacking the experience with this machine).

·
Super Moderator
26,136 Posts
Usually the shop fees seem ridiculous to me for what they do.

·
Banned
9,422 Posts
...I have heard enough horror stories of dealers missing and neglecting thing that I would never rely on them for basic maintenance ... plus : by doing your own maintenance you are in touch with your bike; I also recommend clutch cable cleaning and lube at the same time :)

·
Registered
1,722 Posts
Do it yourself.
Clean and lube just both ends of the clutch cable at every oil change.

·
Registered
6,656 Posts
I also recommend clutch cable cleaning
What's that? I understand that the cables inside the tubes are permanently lubed and not to add anything else into them. Just clean and re-lube both ends.

·
Registered
5,092 Posts
...I have heard enough horror stories of dealers missing and neglecting thing that I would never rely on them for basic maintenance ... plus : by doing your own maintenance you are in touch with your bike
^^^ This ^^^