Deciding Whether to Purchase the Victory Cross Country Tour or Not | Victory Motorcycles: Motorcycle Forums

Deciding Whether to Purchase the Victory Cross Country Tour or Not

Discussion in 'Victory Cross Country' started by Dave_In_Dallas, Apr 24, 2021.

1. Dave_In_Dallas

Dave_In_Dallas New Member

Type of Motorcycle Currently Riding:
    BMW r1200rt
    Hello,

I am new to the VOG. I joined to learn more about the Victory XCT motorcycle before I purchase a 2017 model with less than 21K miles in Dallas/Fort Worth. I've owned over 20 bikes over the years, but only a few cruisers - 2010 Yamaha 1900cc Stratoliner, 2014 BMW R1200RT, and the 2018 Honda's Goldwing DCT Tour.

Are there any known significant issues I should be aware of regarding the Cross Country Tour?

Is the bike comfortable on long (6+ hrs) rides, or does the factory seat need to be upgraded? Comfort is very important to me for longer rides.

I have read that maintenance is easy to perform by the owner; is that true?

Are there any other questions I should be asking before I purchase the bike?

Thanks and have a great day.

2. Blowndodge

Blowndodge Well-Known Member

2013 Victory XCT
    I'll try to help

I have a 2013 and have not had any issues. The bike is comfortable for 10 hour rides. I had to upgrade the seat to a Russell Day Long as I thought the stock seat wasn't up to the task. Some think it's fine. I didn't

Maintenance is super easy other than having to remove the seat and gas tank to change or clean the air filter.

Oil changes couldn't be any easier.
    Break pads are just as easy.
    Hydraulic fluid flush is easy.

I have 61K miles and have never had a breakdown issue. I'm riding to Idaho in less than 2 months and have as much confidence in a stress free ride as I've always have had.

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. wvrider1

wvrider1 Well-Known Member

Goldmist/Black 14 XCT