VOG Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! I've been riding for about 40 years, but new to the boards and considering my 1st Vic. I have one possibly for the "too good to be true?" file. Just wanted to get some thoughts from the experts before I go ahead.
2006 Kingpin, 5000 miles. 2 owners. Current has had it since 2010 and put about 2000 miles on it. It looks good, but I'm concerned about his maintenance habits. I live about 4 hours from it so haven't seen it in person. Info comes from the owner and pics/video.
Title/VIN is clear and that all checks out. Comcerns: It has the original tires. When asked about maintenance, he pointed out it only has 5k on it so it's only been done a couple times. By him. Says he rides 10-15 miles at a time every couple weeks to keep it up. Claims no issues with the clutch or fuel pump. I know the throttle body/adapters will need to be looked at. He's asking $5500. Is this in that too good to be true category? Other concerns I should have? I appreciate any input!! Thanks guys!
I tried to add a video of it running. Not sure it attached...
Tire Wheel Fuel tank Vehicle Automotive fuel system

·
Registered
3,280 Posts
I’d consider a different bike. That old and few of miles, all of the rubber bits are suspect and likely will need to be changed. Tires, absolutely, but also think of the throttle body boot, vacuum lines, etc.

I would also be concerned with the “rode 10-15 miles” to keep it up. These bikes take a long time to warm up and I don’t believe that short of run allowed for the bike to come to full temp, get the water/condensation out of the pipes, etc.

I also don’t see a garage in the pics, so I’d want to know where it was stored. Outside? Under a cover? Climate controlled garage?

·
Registered
4,228 Posts