VOG Forum banner

And so it Begins

8K views 78 replies 33 participants last post by  SemperVee 
#1 ·
We just got word locally that 2 HD dealerships in our area are closing. I’ve been saying for a few years now, they don’t have the sales to support a company this size. What gets me is the one is holding it’s own but with the HD franchise deal they can come in at anytime and say sorry your out. All the blood sweat and tears you put into something you love and BAM your out. That’s some Bull$hit ! Anyways I believe a lot more of this will come in the next year. Over 700 dealers in the US and the regrouping for survival I believe is coming with a major downsizing for survival. Time will tell they are hurting money wise pretty bad. Over 4 years of sales continually dropping hard. I know this is not an HD site but I thought being as it’s a major part of the motorcycle world I’d just toss it out there. 700 workers layed off so far this year and another plant closed overseas due to lack of sales last week. Getting a little scary for them

#2 ·
Too many dealers as it is. Trying to sell something most don't want. Bikes are hard to sell even without a pandemic.

Reactions: 13SicVic
#3 ·
I've been expecting it for some time. Unlike a lot of Vic owners I want HD to succeed. I want to see American V-Twin manufactures in general succeed... that's a type of bike I enjoy riding. I want to see healthy competition in the V-twin and touring market. Unfortunately, I think there's less and less riders every year that are willing to drop 25-40K on a motorcycle. I like them, but with the abundance of used bikes I can't fault anyone for that... there's just relatively no incentive to paying that kind of money for a bike when you can grab such deals for 5-10K. Couple that with less and less people entering the sport/hobby and you have dealerships struggling.

#13 · (Edited)