2006 ecu vs 2008+ and power commander | Victory Motorcycles: Motorcycle Forums

2006 ecu vs 2008+ and power commander

Discussion in 'Victory General Discussion' started by MTScott, Mar 28, 2020.

1. MTScott

MTScott New Member

Type of Motorcycle Currently Riding:
    2006 Kingpin
    So I've had this 2006 Kingpin for a couple weeks, and I'm still learning about it. Doing some basic maintenance and up keep that I think the previous owner ignored, but I'm already ramping up for mods (pipes, maybe high comp pistons, etc)...

Before I do any other mods I think my first upgrade might be the Power Commander 5, which looks very capable for tuning and auto tuning. On one of the demos I watched, it appears to be able auto tune and take O2 readings from each individual cylinder and fuel each cylinder individually. I've done some EFI work in the past with megasquirt, so I'm fairly comfortable with this kind of thing.

My 06 does not appear to have O2 sensors installed, and there is only one bung (which is plugged) down lower past the floor board. The guy that sold me this said it had "Stage 1" pipes, and I really don't know if that is true.. he made no mention of a tune or other upgrades. I've found that maybe only the 2008+ models have dual sensors that run in closed loop, and prior to that it was open loop (feel free to correct me on any of this).

So, with all of that information, my questions are:
    1. Can the power commander V take advantage of dual sensors if I install the bungs in a 2006, or am I limited by the ECU's capabilities to only run one sensor?
    2. If the answer to Q1 is yes, can it tune individually each cylinder still, or is the stock ECU again a limitation?