Why Victory over Harley?

Discussion in 'Victory General Discussion' started by Taylor7701, Dec 30, 2012.

1. Taylor7701

Taylor7701 New Member

Type of Motorcycle Currently Riding:
    Researching motorcycles
    I'm a new rider and have just ridden friends bikes as I've gotten my license. I'm looking to buy a new bike in 2013 and curious why Victory fans like/ love their bikes and why they ultimately bought a Victory over a Harley. I live in Milwaukee so they obviously own this market. Thanks for your insights as I begin my motorcycle journey.

2. Putter

Putter New Member

'09 Hammer

For me it was four main things. The first is a matter of opinion but the other three are hard for anyone to dispute.

1. Looks
    2. Reliability
    3. Less vibration
    4. it was different. (I wasn't ready to join the herd.)

But, if you like HD better, go buy it. It's your money.

3. FlaMike

FlaMike Member

2013 F6B (mine) 2013 Vegas 8ball (hers)

Well I've been riding for 35 yrs, owned many bikes, of which 6 were Harleys. I liked my Harleys but never bought into all the lifestyle bs. No company has ever paid me to ride their bikes, so I buy and ride what works for me. A motorcycle is a motorcycle, nothing more or less. You should buy what works for you. If you've "always wanted a Harley' by all means, do it. You might like it, you might not.

I know that Vic's are far ahead of HD from an engineering standpoint. I can't think of one area that my RoadKing was better than my CrossRoads. But buying a motorcycle is largely an emotional purchase, logic takes a back seat. Maybe in mycase it was a been there, done that kinda thing.