Suggested Octane???

Discussion in 'Victory Cross Country' started by X-NYPD, May 19, 2017.

1. X-NYPD

X-NYPD New Member

Type of Motorcycle Currently Riding:
    Cross Country 8 Ball
    So, here’s the problem: I have been using ethanol free 93 octane since day one in my 2016 CC 8 Ball. I refuse to use fuel with ethanol. There are two gas stations nearby that sold it (same company “Dakota”). Yesterday I went to fill up and they placed a piece of tape with the octane rating of 90. They are a pain in the azz because you have to go inside and pay first or leave a credit card when the pumps are glitchy. If you are lucky to pay outside the pumps are first generation digital pads (I’m talking liquid displays) that need hulk fingers to operate and the slightest light bleaches the digits out.

Now there is a modern Exxon and a BP station nearby (even more convenient right near my exit) that has ethanol free 89 octane (plus fuel). Seeing that the pain in the azz gas station is only rated 1 octane higher, would 89 screw me up. (Yes, I know about pre-detonation, slow burning blah blah blah technical high vs. low octane). Also, I live in a low elevation area.

So, final question (sorry about long way to get here), anyone have any difficulty with 89 octane???

2. tree1979

tree1979 Well-Known Member

2007 Victory Kingpin
    Nope. Use the lowest octane that doesn't cause pinging. Higher octane does not mean better gas, just more resistant to detonation due to compression. You only need higher octane with higher compression.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  3. ronmoll

ronmoll Active Member

2016 Cross Country Tour
    I've been using Shell 90 octane ethanol free because it's Shell, so it's Top Tier detergent gasoline. When I'm in a rush I use Raceway gas (not Top Tier) but it's 87 octane ethanol free. The bike runs exactly the same with the 87 octane vs the 90 octane. I prefer the Shell because it "should" keep the engine cleaner than the other stuff.