Counter steering

Discussion in 'Victory General Discussion' started by ttwntec, Apr 19, 2017.

1. ttwntec

ttwntec New Member

Saw a discussion on here a couple weeks ago and the discussion turned to counter steering vs. body steering to avoid a accident/object. I stayed out because it started to get a little hot.

That's been bugging me.

Am I an expert about motorcycles, no. Buy I can say I have had advance training and I have more ass time on a big bike in traffic then most. I can also say, yes I am an expert in accident investigation and reconstruction. I will say this YOU CAN NOT BODY STEER A BIKE FOR ACCIDENT AVOIDANCE. period no if and or buts.

How to Steer a Motorcycle: Countersteering vs. Body-steering

The front tire on a motorcycle is a gyroscope. It is hard, at speed to move a motorcycle tire off an upright line. That's why when riding we don't fall over, and the faster we go the more stable we are. As matter of fact at speed if you hit something and your handle bars start vibrating or you get a high speed wobble, you should let go of the handle bars. The gyroscopic effect will take over and want to remain up right. Try hitting a highway cone at 60+ under acceleration in traffic, I had cleaned my shorts after.

To turn you have to cause the tire, gyroscope, to fall over and lean. Remember above the tire want to remain upright. To start the tire to fall allowing us to turn you apply pressure to the handle bars in the opposite direction of your turn, push left to go left push right to go right. After your tire falls then you can turn the bars in the direction, but if you need to adjust your counter steering.

Why do we need to know this. As a kid riding you bicycle you naturally did this. You had to there is no other way to turn. As bigger kids on bigger bikes we do this, it's subconscious, we have to to turn. So in a PANIC situation when we do the oh ****, we need to make a conscious decision to turn. That is the kicker.